Print Page   |   Contact Us   |   Your Cart   |   Sign In   |   Register
Alumni Directory
AlumNews: Campus News & Announcements

Oklahoma Christian to add women’s golf

Thursday, January 27, 2011   (0 Comments)
Posted by: Amy Gower
Share |
OKLAHOMA CITY, Okla. (Jan. 18, 2011)  – Oklahoma Christian University Athletic Director, Curtis Janz, announced on Monday that women’s golf will be added to the university’s athletic programs beginning in the fall of 2011. "OC is currently recruiting players to begin play this fall,” said Janz. Oklahoma Christian competes in the Sooner Athletic Conference that will now have eight women’s golf teams. "We’re excited about adding women’s golf to complement our highly successful men’s golf team,” Janz said. "The men’s team won the NAIA National Championship in 2009 and has placed in the NAIA’s top four for 11 straight years. OC golfers have been named All-America 35 times. In 2009, former coach Kelsey Cline, who left to become an assistant for close friend Sam Bradford, was named national Coach of the Year in 2009.” Greg Lynn, currently on staff, has been named the women’s head coach.  He has served as the men’s assistant golf coach since 1999 and head JV golf coach since 2003.  "Coach Lynn has been an integral part of our men’s golf program and a part of our 11 straight top four finishes at NAIA Nationals,” Janz said.  Greg Lynn current duties include fundraising, daily practices, home tournaments, and tournament travel. Janz added that David Lynn, who returned to Oklahoma Christian as golf coach after Cline’s departure, has been named director of golf operations over the men’s and women’s programs and will continue as the men’s head coach. David Lynn, a 1996 OC graduate, previously coached the golf team from 1999 to 2008. During his previous tenure, Lynn led the Eagles to 34 team tournament titles and 33 individual titles. He produced 29 NAIA All-Americas, 14 Ping NAIA All-Americas and 15 NAIA Scholar-Athletes. Lynn has received four Sooner Athletic and NAIA Region VI Conference Coach of the Year awards.

Sign In